Day two of the course

It’s day 2 and once again I’ve learned a huge amount of new skills, techniques and ways to improve what I’ve already practiced.

Today we moved onto creating a sprung base which I was really looking forward to as It’s yet unchartered territory for me. Yesterday I webbed the frame from beneath so that I could use the full depth of the chair for a sprung base, and this morning I tied and lashed four 3-inch springs in place.

20110802-182915.jpg

For those that are interested, this was then followed with a layer of hessian also tied to the springs, bridle ties for the first stuffing and a healthy amount of coir ready for the stitched pad. Learning how to prepare the stuffing in the right density has been really useful – a book only gives you a picture!

So this is where I’m up to….

20110802-183055.jpg

Partly, I’m shocked at how long this can take. As I’ve been practicing in fits and starts, this is the first period I’ve had to work on a project from beginning to end – but then I suppose if you’re all about the craft then speed sits at odds with that.

The atmosphere in the workshop is great, lots of chat and laughter – Sonja looks after us beautifully with tea, biscuits, cake and a home made lunch on the patio in the sunshine. It’s all very civilised!

I’ve come across to St Mawes for a wonder by the sea In the evening sun. Does it get much better?

Leave a Reply

