Reading, Digging, Admiring

I admitted to a friend the other day that I was feeling the guilt again, since I came back from Truro I’ve only completed one small project and my skewers are still in their packaging. When I thought about it though, I’m still progressing but with some of the other foundations that I need for my future career to be a success.

Reading

I bought this book on recommendation, I’m not a massive reader but I felt confident from how it was described that it would be worth it. ‘The Element’ by Ken Robinson talks about embracing your passions and recognising the value that they have and the reality of what your passions can become. I’m finding it really uplifting and parts of it feel like they were written specifically for me. Spooky!

Digging

This workshop isn’t going to appear on its own, so it was time to get out the spade and start digging out the base. I’m hoping to have finished the excavation this weekend and then it’s buying hardcore and hiring a whacking plate – I get to play with machinery. Does it get more fun than that?

Admiring

Earlier in the year I was given some sound advice to hunt out people who I admire to see what I could learn from them. The London Chair Collective came into this category for me, but more recently I’ve been admiring Hopper and Space. Joe and Ben not only restore and re-upholster some ultra cool mid-century pieces, but they have created a distinctive and sharp brand to support it. While the style of my pieces is a little different to theirs, I hope to have a similar presence one day.

5 thoughts on “Reading, Digging, Admiring

  1. I always get a little buzz of excitement when you ‘announce’ a Cantin’ update šŸ™‚
    Good luck with the new abode!

  2. Hi Jon, just came across your blog via your post on the livingetc forum. Love your chairs and share your desire (and difficulty) to find inspirational fabrics, going to have to look at spoonflower. I have been upholstering for two years studying in Leamington at Warwickshire college. If you can’t make it there I know of someone who runs day workshops in Napton. She is a very experienced upholsterer and very helpful (and patient)! You may find it useful, especially when stuck on a project. I’m a novice at all this blogging lark but if you wanted details do get in touch and I would be happy to pass on her contact details.

    1. Hi Jill,

      Thanks for your message, it’s great to hear from someone learning upholstery too! Do you have a blog? I’d love to see some of the things you’re working on.

      I saw the course in Leamington when I was researching earlier in the year – unfortunately it was still too far for me to attend regularly. I’d be grateful for those details of the lady in Napton – my email is jonsanderson23@hotmail.com

      In the meantime I’ve booked another week in Truro for the new year – I fancy having a crack at deep buttoning!

      Thanks again for getting in touch

      Jon

  3. Hi Jon,

    Thank you for stopping by my blog to say hello! It’s really nice to hear other stories of folks launching into a new creative adventure. I loved reading your blog, and I really like your take on upholstery. Your fabric choices are wonderful. The links to the London Chair Collective and Spoonflower are very inspiring.

    Isn’t Tresithick a magical place? I did the six week course in one chunk as I was visiting from the US, and it was the best thing I’ve done in a long time. It’s a bit daunting starting out on your own, but it’s easier to do when you have a passion for it as it motivates you to keep going!

    I’ll keep reading, it will be nice to see how things progress for you. Good luck with it all!

    All the best,
    Sarah.

Leave a Reply

