A year as an upholsterer

It seemed kind of fitting that I post my final 2011 blog entry today as it falls on the 1 year anniversary of my very first blog post.

Now, if I’m perfectly honest I wasn’t totally sure that I would still be doing this a year down the line, I wasn’t entirely sure that I would still be perusing a career as a self employed upholsterer – after all, I’ve got no form for this kind of self propelled enterprise so there was always a risk that this whole endeavour would be consigned to the ‘too hard’ or ‘no time’ file and that would be the end of that. But it wasn’t.

In fact, I’m further ahead and more committed than I truly thought I would be. I’m finishing 2011 with 10 completed chairs under my belt (3 for real customers!), 23 blog posts (which just happens to be my lucky number), a week’s professional tuition, a whole bunch of tools, some fancy-pants business cards (all given to friends and family so far with a “hey look I’ve got a card now!”) and a workshop. Even though I know that there’s still heaps more to learn and do, I feel immensely satisfied.

20111228-205333.jpg

Then of course there are the people who have played an important part and who continue to spur me forward – reading ‘The Element’ by Ken Robinson illustrated how important it is to surround yourself with people who will keep you afloat in one way or another, or in his words ‘a Tribe’. And so on my anniversary I think it’s important to recognise a few members of my tribe like Dean for inspiring me to leap, Helga for helping me to create a path and for always telling people I’m an upholsterer, Chantal, Julie and Dee for following what I’m doing and always being interested, Richard and Sonja for helping me to have one of the most rewarding weeks and for teaching me so much and of course a certain Mr Turner for being unquestionably supportive, even though you know I’m going to live in the shed from now on. And yes, I’m aware that this sounded like an indulgent Oscars acceptance speech.

20111229-205230.jpg

And so to 2012, hopefully working just 4 days in the day-job (still a work in progress), making the most of my workshop which is coming together nicely and perhaps even making something! Think I might have a crack at a big footstool…………

Here’s to a great New Year.

3 thoughts on “A year as an upholsterer

  1. Thank you for your acknowledgement it is very much appreciated. I always tell people you are an upholsterer because you are, and because – to use the training jargon – I’m modelling what I’d like you to tell yourself! It’s a very powerful tool: just to tell yourself what you are and “own” it. Even when you are at your “other” job, you’re an upholsterer who works part time at something else! Try it!

Leave a Reply

