The finished footstool

This week was my first Part-time week and my first self employed Friday, also known to many as Good Friday. So yes, the impact of my massive decision to move away from full time employment was somewhat diluted by the fact that every other man, woman and child decided to take the day off with me. Did I do any upholstery? No. We de-cluttered the house.

Saturday however was a completely different matter, the footstool I’d started at Tresithick had to be finished (we had family coming for dinner and I was determined to show them that I’d been busy!), I’d already made and upholstered the base and the legs had arrived a few days ago so off to the shed I went……..

And this is what I emerged with

20120409-205458.jpg

I have to say I’m really pleased with the end result, of course there area few things I’d do differently next time, but as a prototype it’s not half bad!

This also means that I’ve achieved one of my personal goals from the last 12 months, to have a product of my own. I can makes this footstool in any shape or size, plain or buttoned, tall or short from scratch. No need to trawl antique shops or eBay, I can make a piece of furniture all by myself. That feels pretty cool!

I think I might call it ‘The Sanderson’ as I’m fortunate to have the same surname as the fabric brand and the posh, London hotel I thought they would be good associations. As its also an Olympic year, if you happen to think of Tessa Sanderson along the way I’m happy with that too.

So who wants to buy one?

4 thoughts on “The finished footstool

    1. Hi! Thanks so much for your lovely comment, just had a look at your blog and seen your assortment of stools – great finds! Very jealous of your basement workspace too – will follow with interest 🙂

  1. I absolutely love the look of your footstool. This is my 2nd day of a three day upholstery course which my three adult children bought me as a birthday present! I was 63 years of age and my husband died 3 months ago. My children knew that upholstery was something I had always wanted to do. The course started four days after my birthday and the only thing I had to hand to upholster was a magnificent dining arm chair which I had grown up with as a baby!! It was threadbare, truly threadbare, but I loved it! I wish I could download a picture but because I am the age I am, I have no idea how to do that!! However, I have taken photos so maybe one of my children will teach me what to do!! I arrived in class with my threadbare armchair and it took me one day and a half to strip off the fabric, wadding, dried grass (not hay, as was so advised) and trillions, trillions and trillions of what looked like poppy seeds!! (my classmates call me the drug baron!!). I removed tacks that had been in-n-n-n, obviously for considerably more than my years of age and then I had to fill in the same holes with sawdust mixed with glue to a paste. Believe it or not, I was told by my tutor, the springs were okay! I’m not surprised because, although it was threadbare, in all my own years, I cannot remember anyone ever sitting on it for more than an half an hour once a year!!! It presently looks ghastly and it fills me with horror should my own mom and dad be looking down on it, let alone whom ever it belonged to beforehand, as apparently they bought it from an auction sale. The frame, ‘cus that’s all that’s left now, amazingly is in really good condition. I now have to bring it up to the 21st century. Wish me luck!! So, thank you, to my children, for diverting my attention away, for a few hours over the next three days, from my terrible, unexpected, loss.

    1. Hi Sue,

      Thanks so much for taking the time to write about your experiences, what a wonderfully thoughtful gift from your children, it sounds like it has been just the ticket at this difficult time. it certainly sounds like you’re enjoying the process and making the most of the tuition – I’m intrigued by the grass filling! Certainly something I’ve not heard of in my (still limited) experience.

      There is something so interesting about stripping back the layers of a chair, especially one as old as yours – looking at the techniques and craftsmanship that may not have seen the light of day for some considerable time. I wrote in one of my early posts about stripping back a chair that my late Grandfather had upholstered, it was a really lovely experience.

      I’d love to see some photos (especially before and after) of your project. Will you need to book some more time at the class to complete it or are you thinking of tackling it on your own?

      Good luck with the course, I hope you continue to enjoy it as much as you are right now.

Leave a Reply

