Back at Chair School – third day

I’ve already decided that I’m going in early tomorrow.. There’s something about seeing a chair start to take shape that can make you very impatient to see the end result, so I’m going to squeeze in as much chair time as I possibly can between now and Friday.

Today I completed the arms and what a valuable learning experience this has been. The techniques I’ve learned are far superior to the methods I previously adopted and have produced a result in which I am fully confident.

A beautiful arm!
A beautiful arm!

This afternoon I was able to move to the wings and I’d say they’re looking pretty good. Again, lots to learn, especially around the join between the bottom of the wing and the top of the arm

The chair as I left it this evening, complete with a second coat of Annie Sloan
The chair as I left it this evening, complete with a second coat of Annie Sloan

There has been much talk this week of my last project, the little cocktail chair that became known as the “10 Please Fred” chair after the inscription I found daubed on its chipboard frame! It’s been remarked that this wingback was likely made by Fred too as chipboard seems to be the wood of choice. This isn’t unusual in more modern furniture and the end result will be just a good

We've decided that Fred should take a break
We’ve decided that Fred should take a break

Tonight Darren and I treated ourselves to a little post-school cinema trip and went to the Plaza in Truro to see The Grand Budapest Hotel. The film was a real visual feast and beautifully filmed, but we took even more from being in a little cinema with big comfy chairs and only 5 rows of seats. No soulless multiplexes here! What a great week this is turning out to be.

A proper cinema
A proper cinema
Leave a Reply

