Thanks for the velvet tips

I’m clearly a glutton for punishment as I’m contemplating another velvet project. You may remember my first attempt with velvet but if you dont, let’s just say it turned out fine, but there was some pain along the way! I’ve been given this gorgeous little 30’s chair and I can’t help thinking that a rich yellow / mustard velvet would look simply amazing (and bang on-trend too). What do you reckon?

30's chair

Anyway, as I brace myself in preparation I had to share with you a short email that dropped into my inbox the other day….

Date: 11 August 2014 16:42:12 BST
To:enquiries@thecantinpatch.co.uk
Subject: Thanks for velvet tips

Hi Jon,

I just wanted to say thanks heaps for sharing your despair when you were sewing striped velvet seat cushions. I was in that same place, frustrated and close to tears when I googled and found your blog. I laughed lots and quickly went to buy a walking foot. Velvet, though still temperamental, is sewing beautifully now. Thanks again.

Coral
From Australia

I was so delighted that someone had taken the time to let me know that my account of working with the world’s most volatile fabric (I’m being slightly dramatic) had helped them in their velvet hour of need (which sounds equally dramatic) …… and not only that, on the other side of the world!

This certainly put a big smile on my face and made me feel like I’d done a good deed for the week. I’d say it’s also helped me to feel 20% more brave (not a scientific measurement) and ready to give velvet another go …… thanks Coral!

2 thoughts on “Thanks for the velvet tips

  1. Thanks Jon Love and support coming your way. My client was so pleased with the window seats, they now want cushions!!!!! Yes, you guessed it, in velvet. Not sure if I mentioned it before but it’s a double job. Sew velvet, eagle eye on pussy cats to keep them OFF velvet. Your chairs would be lush in velvet. The no nep velvety are my favourite because you get the depth of colour which I adore. I have a similar chair I got on the roadside. It’s ready for a new look but super comfy as it is.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

