The Victorain Nursing Chair – Day 9 & 10

There’s nothing like trying to build a bit of suspense ….. And this really was nothing like it. I went to see Spectre las night hence the lack of update! You didn’t notice? Rude.

So that’s it, chair school is over until next year and I’m please to say that the Victorian Nursing chair is finished. Almost.

Remember the problems I was having with the buttons? Well unfortunately the same applied to the piping that I want to use to trim the chair, so I need to source another complimentary fabric to complete the job. A lack of piping means that I can’t put on the back panel yet as the piping needs to be set in place first.

I’ll have to finish this in the new year

Of course this is only a minor setback when you look at the amount I’ve covered in 10 days. These 2 weeks, as ever, have taught me so much. Every time I come to Tresithick I find that I’ve retained more and more from my last visit so that I’m ready to take on another layer of information. I’ve picked up some great tips on shaping, pattern matching and springing this time and I feel like I want to dive straight into another traditional project to put them to good use.

The seat fabric went on pretty easily as the shape is already set by the calico beneath. It really was great to see the final fabric on the seat for the first time, especially against the back of the chair. Great care was taken to ensure that the pattern was matched so that the chair ‘reads’ properly from top to bottom.

So here it is, the big reveal – the House of Hackney x William Morris nursing chair complete with dark green leather buttons. What do you think?

The House of Hackney fabric has real impact!

 

Dark green leather saved the day

Darren and I have had such a great time in Cornwall again, and I know we’ll be sad to drive away tomorrow. But hey, we get to come back again next year, maybe for 3 or 4 weeks – I’ll share more about that soon. A big thanks also goes to everyone who has been following my progress these past 10 days and for the lovely, encouraging comments. They’ve made me even more enthusiastic about this project.

If you’re going to do your upholstery training somewhere, you may as well be somewhere as beautiful as this

The last word has to go to Bella, Richard and Sonja’s dog. I’m going to miss tug of war every break time. I got this photo by holding my biscuit behind the camera. I then ate it. Is that cruel?

give me that biscuit or play with me. Your choice.
4 thoughts on “The Victorain Nursing Chair – Day 9 & 10

  1. I love it! That fabric is fabulous!! I’m a big fan of green at the moment. You’ve done a beautiful job and highlighted some of the daily small problems that us upholsterers encounter. I always enjoy reading about your progress 🙂

Leave a Reply

