Pasty Friday

Today has felt very satisfying, and pasties for lunch were the icing on the cake. Despite the fact that stitching is really hard on the hands the finished result always looks so impressive. I never cease to be amazed at how a seemingly wild mass of loose coir can become a firm, shaped pad with a real beauty to it. I’ve said before that it seems a shame to cover up this part of the build and it’s no surprise that there is something of a trend for part-built chairs in the most fashionable room schemes.

I love how the edge roll really clarifies the final pad shape

Tempting as it may be, I can’t leave it like this, so the back will continue to be built and I’m hoping that by the end of next week I’ll have some of my top fabric in place and I can get a really good feel for how the finished chair will look.

The finished stitched pad. My hands were glad of that.

You’ll no doubt be pleased to hear that my frame is glued once again and we’re fitting some corner braces next week. I know it’s been keeping you awake.

Hair in place and ready to carry on next week

It’s been a really fun week and I’m pleased that a couple of my new Tresithick friends, Elle and Odette will be in the workshop next week too. A special mention goes to workshop buddies Rachel and Pam who made me extremely happy when they revealed that they read my blog! Hearing this always Spurs me on to keep charting my progress *blows a kiss to Rachel and Pam*

Josie’s work – this is going to be magnificent!

I thought I’d show you a couple of shots of the other things happening in the workshop this week, not least Josie’s beast of an armchair. Josie really is working so hard on this and although it’s been tough going at times, based on where it is right now, the end result will be stunning.

I think Pam wins the award for ‘most precise sewing’
Rachel’s armless chair is coming on a treat. I’m a bit in love with her choice of fabric

Leave a Reply

